# PROFESSIONAL ENGINEERS & GEOSCIENTISTS NEWFOUNDLAND & LABRADOR DRAFT MINUTES OF 69<sup>th</sup> ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD FRIDAY, JUNE 10, 2022, BY VIDEOCONFERENCE

### In Attendance

#### Board Members:

Bill O'Keefe, P. Eng., FEC Chair Dr. Jacques Guigné, P. Geo. Chair Elect Natalie Hallett, P. Eng., FEC Past Chair Sudeshna Abbott, P. Eng., FEC Director Steve Emberley, P. Geo. Director Derek Follett, P. Eng. Director Director Liz Palmera-Nuñez, P. Eng. Dr. Titia Praamsma, P. Geo. Director

Louise Pinsent Parsons Director (Ministerial Appointee)

#### Staff:

Janet Bradshaw, P. Eng., FEC CEO & Registrar

Mark Fewer, FEC (Hon)

Bill Hunt, P. Eng., FEC

Andrew Peach

Heather Appleby, P. Eng., FEC

COO & Deputy Registrar

Professional Standards Director

Operations Coordinator

Special Projects Manager

#### Confirm Quorum, Call to Order and Adoption of Agenda

Upon confirming quorum, B. O'Keefe called the meeting to order at 12:12pm.

It was moved by S. Abbott, P. Eng. and seconded by S. Emberley, P. Geo. to adopt the agenda as presented.

## - MOTION CARRIED -

#### Welcome

B. O'Keefe welcomed all special guests and introduced each speaker.

#### **Moment of Reflection**

A moment of silence was observed in memory of deceased PEGNL members.

B. O'Keefe also acknowledged those who are currently facing other hardships in their lives.

## **Minutes of the 2021 Annual General Meeting**

It was moved by T. Praamsma, P. Eng., and seconded by D. Follett, P. Eng., that the minutes of the 2021 Annual General Meeting be adopted as circulated.

# - MOTION CARRIED -

#### **Business arising from the Minutes**

No new business was noted.

#### Chair's Report

B. O'Keefe presented the Chair's Report.

#### CEO & Registrar's Report

J. Bradshaw presented the CEO & Registrar's report.

## Scrutineers' Report

David Goosney, P. Eng., FEC, member of the Scrutineers Committee, discussed the process followed by the Committee, and confirmed the following:

4.804 total ballots were issued for the 2022 election.

1,291 ballots were cast online.

The results were:

Elected Position
Gerry Antle, P. Eng., FEC Chair-Elect

Barry Hillier, P. Eng. Non-Executive Director (three-year term) (outside Eastern District)

Michelle Lethbridge, P. Geo. Non-Executive Director (three-year term)

#### **Registration Committee Report**

Steve Piercey, P. Geo., Chair of the Registration Committee, presented the Registration Committee Report.

#### **Professional Standards Director's Report**

Bill Hunt, P. Eng., FEC, Professional Standards Director, presented the Professional Standards report.

#### Finance Report

B. O'Keefe noted that at the 2021 AGM the members appointed Powers & Associates to conduct the 2021 financial audit and to review the financial condition policies established by the Board to ensure CEO conformance with the financial condition and asset protection of the organization. The audit report confirms that the financial statements present fairly, in all material respects, the financial position of the association as at December 31, 2021. There were no deficiencies identified with respect to internal controls, and no detection of any fraudulent activity.

It was moved by L. Palmera-Nuñez, P. Eng., and seconded by J. Guigné, P. Geo., to accept the audited financial statements of PEGNL as of December 31, 2021.

# MOTION CARRIED -

#### **Appointment of Auditor**

It was moved by N. Hallett, P. Eng., and seconded by H. Appleby, P. Eng., to appoint Power & Associates as PEGNL's audit firm for 2022.

## - MOTION CARRIED -

#### Remarks from Engineers Canada

Kathy Baig, P. Eng., FEC, President of Engineers Canada, provided remarks via video.

# Remarks from Geoscientists Canada

Yuri Kinakin, P. Geo., FGC, President of Geoscientists Canada, provided greetings on behalf of Geoscientists Canada.

## **Introduction of the 2022-2023 Board of Directors**

B. O'Keefe introduced the 2022-2023 PEGNL Board of Directors:

Dr. Jacques Guigné, P. Geo.

Gerry Antle, P. Eng., FEC

Bill O'Keefe, P. Eng., FEC

Steve Emberley, P. Geo.

Chair

Chair Elect

Past Chair

Director

Alex Gibson, CPHR Director (Ministerial Appointee)

Barry Hillier, P. Eng. Director Michelle Lethbridge, P. Geo. Director Nicole Myers, P. Eng. Director Liz Palmera-Nunez, P. Eng. Director

Louise Pinsent Parsons Director (Ministerial Appointee)

Dr. Titia Praamsma, P. Geo. Director

Andrea Stack, CFP, CLU, FCSI Director (Ministerial Appointee)

# Recognition of outgoing Members of Board of Directors

B. O'Keefe noted that Natalie Hallett, P. Eng., FEC, S. Abbott, P. Eng., FEC., and D. Follett, P. Eng., FEC, have finished their terms on the Board of Directors and acknowledged and thanked them for the hard work and dedication each brought to the Board.

# **Incoming Chair Oath of Office and Remarks**

J. Guigné took the Oath of Office and gave remarks.

# **Adjournment**

